PTSD – Many Struggle, Few Tell…..

I was not in the military, but I have learned in the last year or so that my struggles are very similar to those who did serve. This article tells my story almost exactly. The biggest difference is I left the fire service before being diagnosed – several years before in fact – although I was already struggling. In hind sight, I was in pretty bad shape by the time I got out. Getting out of the environment helped a little. For a while.

Sometimes I wonder if I would have been able to continue had I recognized the problem before I left. But, like the people in the story, I truly believe that by the time I made the decision to leave, it was the only option. It was already too late. Maybe if I had been very pro-active early in my career, I could have stayed ahead of it and “survived”. But who thinks like that when they are young and addicted to adrenaline?

http://www.dvidshub.net/news/104797/ptsd-many-struggle-few-tell#.UWS-aTfwGSo

2 responses

  1. Well, I’m glad you could relate to the article. It wasn’t easy to put it out there but I’m glad I did. Reading some of the comments that have been put out there made it very worth it, including you. Please share it as much as you would like

    Thanks again
    Jim Haskell

    1. Mr. Haskell,
      I am deeply honored and humbled that you would take the time to read my post, and even more that you would comment. Humbled in many ways. Thank you very much for your service and for all that you have done – in the service and after. I can identify with the difficulty of sharing your story. I have only told a few very close friends and immediate family. I am working on becoming more outspoken because I feel very strongly about increasing awareness and prevention for first responders. This blog is my first step.

Leave a Reply

ThePatientTeacherRN

Health Teaching from a knowledgeable, experienced RN

PTSD is a Jungle

Tripping over the vines is part of the journey

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

