Health Problems for 9/11 First Responders

“The most common problem is post-traumatic stress disorder, which affects 19 percent of the adults enrolled in the city’s World Trade Center Health Registry, a list of people exposed to the disaster that’s headed by the New York City Department of Health and the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry. That PTSD rate is four times higher than the general population’s.

Many conditions are surprisingly chronic. A 2011 study, published in the journal Disaster Medicine and Public Health Preparedness, found that post-traumatic stress symptoms were found in firefighters nine years after the attacks. Mental-health issues are particularly problematic because many people may be reluctant to seek treatment because of the stigma associated with it or fear of discrimination, experts note.”

This excerpt was taken from this article: http://www.takepart.com/article/2012/09/11/health-problems-linger-9/11-first-responders

To me, this statistic is surprising. ONLY 19%? True, this number is much higher than the general population, but I would still expect that number to be much higher. I suppose maybe the last sentence would explain the lower number. I know I have had a very hard time admitting I have a problem. It took me a decade to seek help and I still have not shared this with anyone beyond my very close family.

I’m curious…..

Have you shared with close friends?

How did you bring it up?

How was it received?

Did this news effect any relationships?

I have considered talking with some friends, but I am not sure I’m ready….

Leave a Reply

ThePatientTeacherRN

Health Teaching from a knowledgeable, experienced RN

PTSD is a Jungle

Tripping over the vines is part of the journey

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

